Blogmas Day 12

Christmas Shortbread Recipe

In the wintertime I like to cuddle up in the sofa wrapped in blankets, watching a Christmas film with a cup of tea and some short bread. (hot chocolate also works).

what-you-will-need

So today I wanted to share with you my easy Christmas short bread recipe.
This recipe can be vegan or not, depends on what ingredients you use. If ®

I have chosen to use two very festive moulds to cut out my shortbread. A star and a polar bear! These shortbreads always go down a treat in my house!

Ingredients:
250g Plain Flour (I use a gluten free one)
175g Butter (I use a vegan butter)
2 tsp Cinnamon Powder
2 tsp Icing sugar (optional)
75g Caster Sugar (I like to do half caster sugar and half coconut sugar)

Method:
(It’s easier if you use your hands to mix the ingredients together).

Pre-heat your over to 180’c.

Place the butter and flour into a mixing bowl, and rub the mixture together until the mixture resembles ‘bread crumbs’.

mix-add-sugar-add-water

Stir in the sugar and cinnamon along with 2 tsp of water, combine all of the ingredients into a ball.

pastry-done

Lightly cover a surface with flour. (I tend to use quite a bit). And start to roll out the mixture to about 2.5mm of thickness.

flour-and-roll-out

rolling-pin-and-shapes

Cut out your shapes, and place onto a lined baking tray.

cut-out-shape1
cut-out-shape-2

Place the tray into the over for about 10-12 minutes. Or until they are lightly golden.

put-in-the-oven-to-bake

Lightly dust over the icing sugar on top. Leave to cool for about 10 minutes.

icing-sugar

Then its time to enjoy!

done

Let me know if you make these short breads and what you think of them!

If you have YouTube, Twitter or Instagram, come and say hello! Just click on the image to be directed to my page on social media!!
See you tomorrow!!
xx

youtube-logo
instagram-logo
twitterlogo

One comment

Leave a Reply

