25 Things I’ve Learnt In 25 Years

(Because my birthday is on the 29th of February, when its not a leap year, I celebrate my birthday on the 28th of February. So today…. Is My Birthday!!!!!!)

baby-to-now-1992-2017

You are who you are, there is never going to be someone who’s just like you. Embrace your individuality it’s unique.

People will never understand my birthday, it doesn’t matter how many times you explain it. (I’m a leap year baby)

collageleap-year

It’s ok to fail. We are not made to be perfect at everything. As long as you learn something from your mistakes, then it’s ok to fail.

You don’t have to do what everyone else is doing. I thought that if my friends were big drinkers, then I would have to be a big drinker. The truth is, that I didn’t need to be. Alcohol doesn’t mean that your night will necessarilybe fun, not drinking on a night out can also be fun. Its about who your with, no what you drink.

It’s ok not to be perfect. I used to think that I had to look a certain way, and behave a certain way. I do look better with my makeup on, I know that. But I also look ok without my makeup on. You want people to see you at your best, but also accept you at your worst.

Don’t judge. It’s easy to get caught up in the cover of a book, but actually what a book is like inside is more important and often better. Judging a book cover is the same as judging a person. Let them open up, they may be different when the cover is taken off.

Take time out for yourself. All of our lives are stressful. It’s important even if its just ten minutes to take some time out for yourself. Some of my favourite ways to do this is my skincare routine, meditation, painting my nails.

Tea. Or coffee. Whatever you like. But a good cup of tea always makes me feel a bit better.

unnamed-11tea

Not everyone will like you. That’s ok. You wont like everyone.

Its ok to absorb yourself into a TV program or a film, even if its just for a while, to take your mind off your current reality.

Read. Reading can be really therapeutic, it can take your mind away from reality, even if just for 5 five minutes.

unnamed-10reading

Make sure your happy. My Grandpa once said to me. ‘What ever you do make sure your happy’. In fact a friend once said the same thing to me as well. Don’t live your life making other people happy. If you are happy, other people will be happy.

Your soul-mate doesn’t need to be your partner, it could be your best friend.

Wearing a bold lipstick or your favourite lipstick can make you feel powerful, as though you can do anything. Trust me, you can do anything.

img_6628rosiebold-lips

You can change your occupation. It doesn’t matter if your 18, 20, 25 or even 30, its ok to try out different areas in all the different types of industry’s. At the age of eighteen we are told that we should go to university. But do we really know at the age of eighteen what we want to be doing for the rest of our lives? I didn’t.

Animals are healers. I learnt this when I was really young about 7, and I find the more time I spend with animals the happier I become. Animals can sense your mood, and they help to relive stress.

spending-time-with-animals

Dark chocolate is good for you. – Need I say anymore?

You can’t choose your family, but you can choose your friends.

It’s ok to have a shoe, handbag, makeup, clothing addiction. That’s why they make bigger wardrobes. At least that’s what I tell myself.

collagemakeup-addict

Its ok if you can count all of your friends on your hands… When your sixteen I feel like people and friendship groups where massive. As you get older you work out who your real friends are, and the people that are worth being in your life.

Try and do something good or positive every day. Even if that’s just smiling at a stranger, holding a door open for someone, buying a homeless person some food. It makes that person feel happy, but it can also make you feel happy.

Embrace your body. This is something that I am actually going to write a full blog post on soon. But with the media and also with friends bodies being different, it can be hard to accept our bodies. We are all different. We all have different curves. The people whom you aspire to look like, may not even like their bodies. So embrace your body. Feel good about it. Choose the areas of your body that you love, and show them off.

Hard work will pay off. Whether that’s in your job, your friends, your partner, your relationships.

Travel. Whether that’s round your country, into Europe or into the rest of the world. See how the other half live. Take photos. Experience new moments, create new memories. Traveling is an adventure, and its great fun, just remember to take your camera.

collagetravel

Finally my last thing that I have learnt is that, I am me. I will have good days and bad days. I will struggle sometimes. But I’ve created a family of friends, whom I know in an emergency would be there in a heart beat. Those people complete and compliment me. Without them, I wouldn’t have the life, the laughter, the love and the adventures that I have today.

At six pm, there will also be a birthday themed makeup tutorial going live on my channel. So make sure to check out my youtube channel at six pm: http://www.youtube.com/rubirubimakeup

xx

youtube-logo
instagram-logo
twitterlogo

5 comments

Leave a Reply

