Heat Wave – Tips & Tricks

If you live in the UK then you know, we are currently in a heat wave. So I wanted to share with you some of my top tips to keep you cool and feeling great in this heat wave.

heat wave
Now it’s known in the UK that our weather can be a bit erratic, so its important to have a few tricks up your sleeve when the heat hits!
No.1
Pull all of the blinds down in your house, this will keep your house cool and it will become a haven.
blinds down
No.2
SPF is essential!!! If you have red hair in your family you need to be wearing SPF 50!!! Otherwise I would recommend SPF 30! I don’t see the point in SPF 15, 10, or 8. Its pointless. It is so important to protect your skin from UVA and UVB. Wearing SPF does this. If you are out in the sun, you need to keep reapplying sun cream every two hours!
No.3
Add an instant refresh to your body by using a thermal water spray. This instantly cools you down and it refreshes you!
spf and face spray
No. 4
Minimal makeup is key, realistically its going to slide off your face, when its as hot as it is, I tend to just wear the Benefit Gimme Brow, some waterproof mascara, and a BB cream that has a high spf in it. If you want to wear bronzer, highlighter and blush, I would recommend using a cream product, its going to last a lot longer.
makeup
No 5.
Drink water, I am to drink 500ml every hour! Your body in the heat can become really dehydrated, which can end up resulting in you feeling really ill. Hydration is key!
No. 6
Remove the duvet out of your duvet cover. Now when I sleep I like to have something covering me always. So by removing my actual duvet from the duvet cover, allows me to still have something, but my body doesn’t over heat.
bed sleep
No. 7
If you are heading to sleep, pull your blinds down, pull your curtains across and open your window. Not only does this allow fresh air to come into your room, but it also helps to keep your room nice and cool.
No. 8
Get a fan!! If you live in the UK, you will know that we don’t tend to have air conditioning in our house… Because honestly, British weather is erratic!
So a fan is really essential. Mine has three modes, and when I’m sleeping I tend to leave it on mode 1 or 2. Its not too intense but it does keep the air moving around me.
fan
No. 9
Wear a hat and a pair of sun glasses, Lets be honest if its really sunny and bright you can’t see. Also the hat will protect your scalp from becoming burnt.
No. 10
Finally if you do happen to get sun burn, have a cool shower. Its blissful. Then apply either Aloe Vera or Natural Yoghurt (sounds strange), but it really helps to remove the sting, and heat from your body! The aloe vera you can leave on, but I would recommend leaving the natural yoghurt on for at least thirty minutes before you remove it!
Do you have any tips and tricks for getting through the current heat wave? Let me know in the comments! x
For PR & Business enquires, please email: rubirubimakeup@gmail.com
youtube-logo
instagram-logo
twitterlogo
Leave a Reply

