Which brands are cruelty free?

Back when I started my career in makeup, I didn’t really stop to think about cruelty free cosmetics. I was in a whirlwind of creativity. As the years have gone by, I have become more interested in using cruelty free brands. I myself have pets and I would be horrified if someone was to test cosmetics on them. So if I wouldn’t allow my own pets to be treated that way, I can’t allow or support other innocent animals to be treated that way.

So today I wanted to share with you a list of brands that are cruelty free and are amazing, but also a list of brands that aren’t cruelty free. I may have purchased products from them in the past, but I will NEVER repurchase cosmetics from them in the future. By continuing to buy cosmetics from brands that aren’t cruelty free, is asking them to continue. If we stop buying them, brands will slowly listen and hopefully change. If a brand is selling in China, it is likely that they are NOT cruelty free!

101

Brands that aren’t cruelty free

Nars – this is relatively new, they have announcement that they are now selling in China and have acknowledged that their products will be tested on animals. For years they were cruelty free – this is a big shame, and my guess is they will loose a lot of customers!

Maybelline – this is really disappointing! (as its sold in China, it can’t be branded as cruelty free as in China, all brands sold their requires mandatory testing on animals.)

Benefit – really really dissapointing!

Bobbi Brown – Goodbye gorgeous moisture rich foundation!

Clinique – really disappointing, I grew up watching my mum apply Clinique makeup!

Rimmel – Yup!! You heard me correctly!! This is one brand that really did shock me!

YSL – They sell in China

Avon – Just because they’ve been around for years, doesn’t mean that they are cruelty free!

EOS – That cute packaging isn’t justifying itself!

Glam Glow – I’m sure there are just as good face masks out in the world that ARE cruelty free!

Kiehls – They are owned by Benefit!

Schwarzkopf – Thankfully I am allergic to their hair products!

Makeup Forever, Head and Shoulders, Sally Hansen, Revlon, OPI, Victorias Secret, Cover Girl, Dove, Johnson and Johnson, Shiseido, Younique, TRESemme, Aussie, SKI II, Herbal Essences, Veet, VO5, Wella, Chanel, Dior, Tom Ford… Etc

images

Brands that are cruelty free

L’Oreal – all products by L’Oreal and all of the brands they own are no longer tested on animals!

B. – Superdrugs own brand, in fact all of Superdrugs own brand products are cruelty free, including their haircare range, skincare and makeup!

Barry M – Most of their makeup products now are also vegan!!

Real Techniques – Seriously these brushes are dreamy!!

ELF – Eyes Lips Face, this brand is now being sold in Superdrug in the UK!! Hurrahhh!! Their products are affordable and brilliant!

Essence – Wooo!

Gosh – When I heard that this brand is cruelty free, I did do a little jump in the air!

Hourglass – Now I really must buy that palette!

Illamasqua – I’ve been using this brand for years, this brand needs so much more hype around it, the quality is incredible!

Jane Iredale – Fun fact, I did a training course with them back in 2012!

Kryolan – I used to to use their products so much when I worked in the industry!

L.A Girl – Thank god, I didn’t know what I would do if I found out my holy grail eye liner was cruelty free!

Boots – all of Boots own brand products are not tested on animals, this includes Botanics, No7, Seventeen etc..

Lush, Liz Earle, Makeup Geek, Marks and Spencer, Pixi Beauty, Milani, Molton Brown, Natasha Denona, Nip + Fab, NYX, Ouai, Catrice, Pai, Soap & Glory, RMS Beauty, Stilla, Sukin, Sunday Riley, Tatcha, Tarte, The Ordinary, The Balm, Eco Tools, Charlotte Tilbury, Too Faced, Estee Lauder, Glossier, Urban Decay, Jo Malone, W3LL People, Wet ‘n’ Wild, Yes To, Collection Cosmetics, It Cosmetics, Tanya Burr Cosmetics, Zoeva…
(The list could go on and on.)

unnamed

So does this list make you think twice about buying from certain brands? Where do you stand with cruelty free products? Let me know either way in the comments below, I really am interested in other peoples thoughts on this!
x

For PR & Business enquires, please email: rubirubimakeup@gmail.com

INSTAGRAM LOGOTWITTERLOGO

Leave a Reply

