Alba Botanica – Anti Acne Sheet Mask

Since more and more affordable brands have brought out sheet masks, I have become more and more obsessed with them!

I was recently browsing in a natural food and skincare shop and came across this range and brand that I had never heard about before. There were three sheet masks to choose from:

  • Camu Camu – Anti Wrinkles
  • Papaya – Anti Acne
  • Grapefruit – Even Tone
  • Coconut Water – Hydrate
  • Anti Pollution – Volcanic Clay

All of them at the price of £3.49. Recently a large blemish has decided to appear on my face (I’m not impressed). So I want to try the anti-acne mask to see if it worked.

The Alba botanical range of face masks are vegetarian, and have no; parabens, phthalates or synthetic fragrances they are also cruelty free.

IMG_01401111111

On the back of the face mask it says:
‘When the acne demons strike, its time for a fast fix anti acne sheet mask, to give pimples their proper punishment. Fear not sometimes it tingles while it works, thats a good think. This mask is made form natural, sustainable-sourced fibre.’

IMG_0142333333

This masks main ingredients are:
Aloe Vera (this is the first ingredient), Salicylic Acid, Lemon oil, Papaya and coconut water.

Before I even look into more detail about these ingredients, I can say that salicylic acid is known for acne treatment, as is lemon. Both coconut water and aloe vera are really really hydrating to your skin too. So already you are looking at hydrating your skin whilst taking care of your blemishes!

I thought I would do something a bit different in this blog post and share with you the benefits of these ingredeints and how they can help rescue your skin!

IMG_014444444

Aloe Vera: If you skin is feeling irritated, or you have sun burn, aloe vera cools and calms the skin down. Not only is aloe vera hydrating but it also fights off infections, which lets face it you don’t want to spread all that bacteria from one spot all over your face, aloe vera actually treats your spots and clears them.

Salicylic Acid: Salicylic Acid helps to exfoliate your skin, it fades scares as well as helping to treat blemishes. If you are someone who suffers with pores, salicylic acid helps to open your pores and draws out all of the crap whilst treating those pores. This acid also helps to reduce the size of pores!

Lemon Oil: Lemon oil is detoxifying, it treats your blemishes by acting as an anti-inflammatory. 

Papaya: Papaya is rich in vitamins, A, C, E & K. It brightens your complexion whilst hydrating your skin. Papaya also helps to fade any scares you may have from acne.

Coconut Water: Coconut water contains a anti-microbial powerhouse called lauric acid, which helps to fight ageing. It also helps to lighten blemishes making the blemishes look less obvious on the skin. Because coconut water also has vitamin C in it, it helps to protect against sun damage!

collage123

The actual sheet mask is quite thin, but it is drenched in the serum. Once the mask is on, in areas where you have blemishes it tingles a little bit, but apart from that its really cooling and relaxing on the skin.

I like that the packet still has some serum in it, so you can continue to use the serum for about two days after using the mask. This really helps reap the benefits of the serum I find!

Once the mask is on your face you leave it for 5-15 minutes. I left it on for fifteen and it honestly didn’t feel too long, if anything I could of left it on for longer.

When I removed the mask, I massaged the remaining serum on my face into my skin. It feels amazing, really cooling and calming to the skin, also after I took the mask off, my spots didn’t appear to be as red as they were before. It will be interesting to see how my skin looking tomorrow morning.

IMG_01412222222

My skin felt really good right up till I went to sleep, when I awoke, the mask had actually made my blemishes worse. I had gained two new spots! Whilst my skin looked fresh and glowy the spots were bad. So I can look at this mask two ways.

  • It made my skin breakout.
  • It pulled out all of the crap from my pores.

Either way, it is now day three and my blemishes are now going away. This isn’t a mask now that I would reach for to soothe my blemishes and spots, but it did pull out all of the gunk from my pores.

So I think this mask may have a place, but maybe I would only use it every now and then and definitely not regularly!

 

Alba Botanica Anti Acne Papaya Sheet Mask
£3.49
Available on Amazon & Natural Health Stores
http://www.naturalhealthwelwyn.co.uk/store/search/brand/Alba-Botanica/

For PR & Business enquires, please email: rubirubimakeup@gmail.com

NEW YOUTUBE LOGO FOR BLOG

NEW INSTA LOGO FOR BLOG

TWITTER LOGO FOR BLOG

 

3 comments

  1. […] Alba Botanic Anti Acne Sheet Mask – This mask really broke me out and whilst I think sometimes our skin needs something that will get out all of the gunk and dirt and grime, this was no looking back a bit too much for my skin. But I did do a blog post on it, so if you want to read more check it out here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

